top of page

Lessons Blog

6. Filling Gaps in Fretboard Knowledge part 2


Find tabs/notation and backing track from "Downloads" section.

In this second part of my "Filling Gaps" lessons I continue trying to find ways how player could find the "blind spots" of his/her fretboard and practice ways to become more familiar with different fretboard positions and fingerings.

Usually we play certain kind of licks in certain fret positions. It is due to many things like ease of playing or sound that certain position gives. In this lesson I have tried to find one lick that suites well (at least in my opinion) to its fret position. Then I play the same lick in four other positions. This gave me some insights:

- To achieve same sound in different positions I have to change playing technique for each position. It's partly because different strings sound differently.

-I had to be careful with accents because hard hit with pick for example on 3rd string lights differently than on 5th string.

-Some positions demanded wider string-skips than the original start position. That led to different technique.

Interesting thing was when I had to change technique in positions my time was different too. It put me thinking that there is a lot of different things that affects our personal playing style. Certain choices of positions, fingerings, strings and etc. among thousands of other thing seems to affect our playing although the notes were same.

 

These all examples are played in blues style on F7 chord backing track. First bar in each example is the starting lick in its position. Then the same lick is been played in other positions of the fretboard. Play these through and then assimilate the idea into your own licks.

Other posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page